Rosón new Young Riders’ leader in Tirreno; Landa 6th atop Trevi

9 March 2018
Imagen de la noticia ‛Rosón new Young Riders’ leader in Tirreno; Landa 6th atop Trevi’

Jaime continues to grow within best climbers in WorldTour, finishes 11th atop Muro di Trevi; both Blues now 44″ behind GC leader Thomas (SKY) before Sassotetto climb, Saturday.

The third stage of the 2018 Tirreno-Adriatico helped the Movistar Team confirm good condition from its designated leader for the race Mikel Landa, and continue to watch the breakthrough by a world-class talent: Jaime Rosón.

In a classic-like stage, no less than 239km finishing at Trevi with two grueling climbs of the ‘Muro’ of San Tommaso (final kilometer averaging almost 12%, slopes up to 20%), Rosón got in the mix with some of the best in the WorldTour alongside Mikel (6th and 11th at the finish). The duo paid back the other blues after good leadout through the entire stage, especially from Bennati, Sütterlin and Amador into the approach to the ascents, plus Oliveira on the difficult terrain between the two climbs.

Slovenian Primoz Roglic (TLJ) made an attack halfway through the final uphill count and took the win in front of Adam Yates (MTS) and Tiesj Benoot (LTS). Most of the GC contenders finished ten seconds behind the winner, keeping the standings still really tight -the top ten riders less than 40″ apart- as Landa and Rosón sit 44″ behind new race leader Geraint Thomas (SKY). Things should change, though, at Saturday’s Queen stage, another long route (219km) with plenty of ascents in its second half and a tough finish up the 11km, 7% avg. Sassotetto ascent.

Male Team 07 - 13 Mar

Tirreno-Adriatico ITA

(3rd Stage) Follonica - Trevi (239 km)
  1. 01 Primoz Roglic LottoNLJumbo 6h17'23''
  2. 02 Adam Yates Mitchelton-Scott + 3''
  3. 03 Tiesj Benoot Lotto Soudal + 6''
  4. 06 Mikel Landa Movistar Team + 10''
  5. 11 Jaime Rosón Movistar Team m.t.
  6. 39 Andrey Amador Movistar Team + 1'03''
  7. 58 Nelson Oliveira Movistar Team + 3'55''
  8. 97 Jorge Arcas Movistar Team + 8'03''
  9. 101 Daniele Bennati Movistar Team + 8'10''
  10. 125 Jasha Sütterlin Movistar Team + 12'45''
See prov general ranking
  1. 01 Geraint Thomas Team Sky 10h52'22''
  2. 02 Greg Van Avermaet BMC Racing Team m.t.
  3. 03 Chris Froome Team Sky + 3''
  4. 12 Mikel Landa Movistar Team + 44''
  5. 13 Jaime Rosón Movistar Team m.t.
  6. 30 Andrey Amador Movistar Team + 1'37''
  7. 53 Nelson Oliveira Movistar Team + 4'25''
  8. 78 Jorge Arcas Movistar Team + 8'37''
  9. 79 Daniele Bennati Movistar Team + 8'44''
  10. 115 Jasha Sütterlin Movistar Team + 13'19''
See stage ranking