Rosón (8th) completes fine week in Italy; Landa 6th

13 March 2018
Imagen de la noticia ‛Rosón (8th) completes fine week in Italy; Landa 6th’

Tirreno-Adriatico (st. 7)

Youngster claws gets two positions back in San Benedetto ITT, notches up first career top-ten finish in a WorldTour stagerace; Mikel joins him at first page of leaderboard after great stage win in Sassotetto.

Polish rider Michal Kwiatkowski (SKY) is the new ‘king of the two seas’ as he sealed, Tuesday, his overall victory in the 2018 Tirreno-Adriatico with a strong ITT in San Benedetto (10km). Australian champion Rohan Dennis (BMC) claimed the day’s victory.

The first Italian stagerace of the UCI WorldTour calendar ended with a double top-ten GC finish for the Movistar Team. Sadly, Mikel Landa wasn’t able to keep the third spot overall he was holding before today’s time trial, his 12’24” time across the finish -just over a minute behind the day’s winner- costing him three places back to sixth.

The Basque’s setback was somewhat balanced, though, with yet another fine performance by Jaime Rosón (12’02”), who improved the times from many of the riders he was contesting a top-ten finish against. The Spanish youngster gained two places back to finish in 8th place, barely nine seconds behind white jersey winner Thijs Benoot (LTS) – a jumper the man from Zamora wore during the race. It’s also the first-ever top-ten result in a top-ranked stagerace for the 25-year-old allrounder.

Picture (c): Dario Belingheri + Luca Bettini / BettiniPhoto.net

Male Team 07 - 13 Mar

Tirreno-Adriatico ITA

(7th Stage) San Benedetto del Tronto (CRI) (10 km)
  1. 01 Rohan Dennis BMC Racing Team 11'14"
  2. 02 Jos Van Emden LottoNLJumbo +4"
  3. 03 Jonathan Castroviejo Team Sky +8"
  4. 15 Nelson Oliveira Movistar Team +23"
  5. 26 Andrey Amador Movistar Team +30"
  6. 44 Jasha Sütterlin Movistar Team +46"
  7. 47 Jaime Rosón Movistar Team +48"
  8. 61 Jorge Arcas Movistar Team +57"
  9. 73 Daniele Bennati Movistar Team +1'04"
  10. 88 Mikel Landa Movistar Team +1'10"
See final ranking
  1. 01 Michal Kwiatowski Team Sky 25h32'56"
  2. 02 Damiano Caruso BMC Racing Team +24"
  3. 03 Geraint Thomas Team Sky +32"
  4. 06 Mikel Landa Movistar Team +1'13"
  5. 08 Jaime Rosón Movistar Team +1'15"
  6. 39 Andrey Amador Movistar Team +16'47"
  7. 51 Nelson Oliveira Movistar Team +22'26"
  8. 63 Jorge Arcas Movistar Team +28'26"
  9. 88 Daniele Bennati Movistar Team +40'45"
  10. 114 Jasha Sütterlin Movistar Team +54'26"
See stage ranking