Rojas 6th at Trofeo Matteotti; big scare for Dayer Quintana, with no major injuries

23 September 2018
Imagen de la noticia ‛Rojas 6th at Trofeo Matteotti; big scare for Dayer Quintana, with no major injuries’

Final race of Italian pre-Worlds tournée

José Joaquín fights for victory at Pescara’s sprint after joining decisive 35-man move, supported by Pedrero and Dayer; Colombian suffers spectacular crash with 15km remaining, with no serious consequences.

A big size breakaway -35 riders, a number similar to another initial move starting into the first of 13 laps and including Nairo Quintanadominated the scene at the 2018 Trofeo Matteotti, where Davide Ballerini (ANS) took back-to-back victories only 24 hours after grabbing success in the Memorial Marco Pantani.

Having set ‘Cóndor’ together with brother Dayer, Antonio Pedrero and Jorge Arcas into that first split, the Movistar Team still had three members into the only group able to finish the race (the bunch being eliminated by the race jury with 100km to go): Pedrero himself, Dayer Quintana and José Joaquín Rojas. The latter two fought into the last two laps to chase down a dangerous six-man attack, led by Sébastien Reichenbach (GFC); into that pursuit, Dayer suffered a spectacular crash down a ravine into a decent, with only some bruises as a result and no major injuries.

In the end, just over a dozen riders were together for the decisive sprint, Rojas taking 6th as top Movistar Team finisher in the whole Italian pre-Worlds tournée. The Blues will be back in Italy next month for the Giro dell’Emilia (Saturday 6th October) and the GP Beghelli (domingo 7), the next races as a group for the Eusebio Unzué-led outfit.

Male Team 23 Sep

Trofeo Matteotti ITA

Pescara (195 Km)
  1. 01 Davide Ballerini Androni Giocattoli 4h42'47"
  2. 02 Giovanni Visconti Bahrain-Merida "
  3. 03 Marco Tizza Nippo-Vini Fantini "
  4. 06 José Joaquín Rojas Movistar Team "
  5. —  Antonio Pedrero Movistar Team DNF
  6. —  Dayer Quintana Movistar Team DNF
  7. —  Mikel Landa Movistar Team DNF
  8. —  Nairo Quintana Movistar Team DNF
  9. —  Eduardo Sepúlveda Movistar Team DNF
  10. —  Jorge Arcas Movistar Team DNF