Norsgaard on final podium (3rd) of Lotto Thüringen Ladies Tour
30 May 2021

Great results for the Movistar Team in Germany

Danish champion 8th at Sunday's uphill sprint in Gotha; wins U23 jersey as she equals Lourdes Oyarbide's third spot in last edition of the race in 2019, following her stage 1 victory.

World cyclo-cross champion Lucinda Brand (TFS) claimed the overall victory in the 34th Lotto Thüringen Ladies Tour (UCI ProSeries), coming to its end on Sunday with a 97km rolling course, flatter than in previous days, and an uphill finish in Gotha. Lorena Wiebes (DSM) won the final sprint of stagerace which further reaffirmed the condition and talent of the young Emma Norsgaard (Movistar Team), 3rd overall in Germany.

Norsgaard at the finish. (c) Arne Mill / Photo Gomez Sport

The Danish road race champion bid farewell to her jersey with a fantastic performance all week, winning the U23 classification; wearing the leader’s jersey for three days through Friday’s Queen stage; always inside the top-ten at all six stages, with an eighth place -her ‘worst’ result on Sunday-, a sixth -Friday-, a third, two second spots and a brilliant victory in Schmölln on Tuesday.

The final podium. (c) Arne Mill / Photo Gomez Sport

Norsgaard, perfectly supported over the entire race by Biannic, Gutiérrez, Oyarbide, Teruel and Guarischi, kept the Movistar Team on the podium of the race after the 3rd spot overall, at the latest edition to date in 2019, claimed by Oyarbide herself.

Cover picture (c): Arne Mill / Photo Gomez Sport

Male Team 25 - 30 May

Thüringen Tour GER

(6th Stage) Gotha (97.8 km)
  1. 01 Lorena Wiebes Team DSM 2h28'28"
  2. 02 Lotte Kopecky Liv Racing "
  3. 03 Emilia Fahlin FDJ Nv. Aquit. Futuroscope +2"
  4. 08 Emma Norsgaard Movistar Team "
  5. 68 Barbara Guarischi Movistar Team +54"
  6. 69 Alba Teruel Movistar Team +1'01"
  7. 70 Sheyla Gutiérrez Movistar Team "
  8. 71 Aude Biannic Movistar Team "
  9. 72 Lourdes Oyarbide Movistar Team "
See final ranking
  1. 01 Lucinda Brand Trek-Segafredo 17h53'35"
  2. 01 Lotte Kopecky Liv Racing +9"
  3. 03 Emma Norsgaard Movistar Team +18"
  4. 36 Aude Biannic Movistar Team +18"
  5. 53 Lourdes Oyarbide Movistar Team +11'23"
  6. 58 Sheyla Gutiérrez Movistar Team +20'41"
  7. 75 Alba Teruel Movistar Team +44'00"
  8. 76 Barbara Guarischi Movistar Team +44'59"
See stage ranking