Carretero (4th) just off podium at Ordizia classic

25 July 2021
Imagen de la noticia ‛Carretero (4th) just off podium at Ordizia classic’

Prueba Villafranca

Spaniard leads courageous performances from Blues in Basque Country: Norsgaard, Serrano (7th) with solo moves into final move as Héctor tries to avoid sprint, ultimately won by Luis León Sánchez (APT).

The restart of Spain’s pro cycling calendar brought a double top-ten finish for the Movistar Team at the Prueba Villafranca – Ordiziako Klasika, the oldest one-day event in our country, held on Sunday over a traditional, 165km course in Gipuzkoa with five Abaltzisketa climbs and two ascents to Altzo near the end.

Alba, Serrano, Carretero and Rojas during the race. (c) Photo Gomez Sport

At the last of the climbs, a six-man elite group left the rest of the peloton behind, with Luis León Sánchez (APT) eventually winning the sprint over Ayuso (UAD, 2nd), Adrià (EKP, 3rd) and a strong Héctor Carretero (4th). The Madrigueras native really worked hard to avoid the ‘volata’, with a couple of attacks into the last few kilometers – sadly, to no avail.

Norsgaard on the attack into the final lap. (c) Photo Gomez Sport

It was a combative day from the group led today by Chente García Acosta. Juan Diego Alba covered the moves into the penultimate lap; Mathias Norsgaard spent a good portion of the final lap alone at the front; and Gonzalo Serrano -eventually 7th- tried to leave the favourites behind at the last Altzo descent. Together with Serrano, José Joaquín Rojas (13th) and Matteo Jorgenson also finished inside the second group.

Cover picture (c): Photo Gomez Sport

Male Team 25 Jul

Prueba Villafranca - Ordiziako Klasika ESP

Ordizia (165.7 Km)
  1. 01 Luis León Sánchez Astana - Premier Tech 3h51'27"
  2. 02 Juan Ayuso UAE Team Emirates "
  3. 03 Roger Adrià Equipo Kern Pharma "
  4. 04 Héctor Carretero Movistar Team "
  5. 07 Gonzalo Serrano Movistar Team +9"
  6. 13 José Joaquín Rojas Movistar Team "
  7. 25 Matteo Jorgenson Movistar Team +15"
  8. 27 Mathias Norsgaard Movistar Team +52"
  9. 47 Juan Diego Alba Movistar Team +1'21"
  10. 96 Gabriel Cullaigh Movistar Team +13'38"