Antonio Pedrero (8th) full of commitment, suffering at Coppa Sabatini
16 September 2021

GP Città di Peccioli

Spanish climber from Movistar Team stays with strong favourites' group until final slope, claims Blues' second top-ten resulf of their Italian week. Valgren Hundahl (EFN) claims back-to-back victories in Tuscany.

Antonio Pedrero (Movistar Team) showed again his class and tenacity in arguably his best pro season, claiming a very decent result into a race not suited to his pure-climber abilities: the Coppa Sabatini (UCI ProSeries), an Italian semi-classic held on Thursday over a hilly circuit around Peccioli, Tuscany.

Pedrero doing his best into the breakaway. (c) BettiniPhoto

The Catalan climber got himself, after one of numerous climbs to Piazza del Popolo, into a 15-man group, later reduced to eight members with most favourites in, against which a real pursuit was never organized, the peloton always trailing by around 1’30” until the very finish.

The effort to join the decisive break took, however, the better of Pedrero, who wasn’t able to take any turns into the final lap and was dropped against more explosive riders on the decisive slope. Dane Michael Valgren Hundahl (EFN) ended up repeating his win from the eve’s Giro della Toscana against European champion Sonny Colbrelli (TBV).

Davide Villella (11th) anticipated the pursuit group’s sprint, with Abner González also into that peloton. (c) BettiniPhoto

The Movistar Team, here directed by Maximilian Sciandri, was still able to claim their second top-ten result in as many races in Italy this week, a tournée they will continue in Romagna with Saturday’s Memorial Marco Pantani.

Cover picture (c): BettiniPhoto

Male Team 16 Sep

Coppa Sabatini ITA

Peccioli (210.8 Km)
  1. 01 Michael Valgren Hundahl EF Education-NIPPO 5h14'20"
  2. 02 Sonny Colbrelli Bahrain Victorious +3"
  3. 03 Mathieu Burgaudeau Team TotalEnergies +6"
  4. 08 Antonio Pedrero Movistar Team +40"
  5. 11 Davide Villella Movistar Team +1'38"
  6. 33 Abner González Movistar Team +1'50"
  7. —  Héctor Carretero Movistar Team DNF
  8. —  Sergio Samitier Movistar Team DNF
  9. —  Jorge Arcas Movistar Team DNF
  10. —  Einer Rubio Movistar Team DNF
Related news