Sütterlin safe through very nervous stage four

16 August 2018
Imagen de la noticia ‛Sütterlin safe through very nervous stage four’

BinckBank Tour (st. 4)

Jasha -helped out by Movistar team-mates- stays within BinckBank Tour’s main bunch after two mechanical incidents, the latter just 5km from Ardooie’s finish. Stuyven (TFS) wins with late attack.

A mixture of technical skill, power and intelligence helped Trek-Segafredo set up Jasper Stuyven for a resounding victory in front of the top sprinters on stage four of the BinckBank Tour -165km from Blankenberge to Ardooie-. Ewan (MTS) and Stybar (QST) were outsmarted by a move into an S-bend with 1.4km remaining, making for another upset in the bunch after a very nervous stage which had the Movistar Team solving several troubles along the way.

Two mechanical incidents affected the Blues’ leader for the race, Jasha Sütterlin, in a day full of short-lived attacks, splits due to crosswinds and crashes in the aftermath of the stage’s only cobbled zone. The first one, 95km from the end, made the German break a spoke in his wheel and require the Movistar Team’s assistance. Quickly back to the bunch, the ‘Bull of Freiburg’ didn’t have time to relax at all, even in a finish where another mechanical, less than 10km before the end, forced his six team-mates to push and help him back to the first half of the peloton.

Jasha, still within the top-20 overall at 50″ from Mohoric (TBM), will have to get safely through a final sprinters’ stage on Friday -209km between Sint-Pieters-Leeuw and Lanaken-, the longest before a weekend where two ‘mini-classics’ will decide the BinckBank Tour’s GC.

Male Team 13 - 19 Aug

BinckBank Tour BEL/NED

(4th Stage) Blankenberge - Ardooie (165.5 km)
  1. 01 Jasper Stuyven Trek-Segafredo 3h44'46"
  2. 02 Caleb Ewan Mitchelton-Scott "
  3. 03 Zdenek Stybar Quick Step "
  4. 29 Jasha Sütterlin Movistar Team "
  5. 65 Dayer Quintana Movistar Team "
  6. 66 Nuno Bico Movistar Team "
  7. 90 Jorge Arcas Movistar Team "
  8. 94 Víctor De la Parte Movistar Team "
  9. 109 Eduardo Sepúlveda Movistar Team "
  10. 110 Héctor Carretero Movistar Team "
See prov general ranking
  1. 01 Matej Mohoric Bahrain-Merida 11h48'28"
  2. 02 Sean de Bie Vérandas Willems-Crelan +3"
  3. 03 Stefan Küng BMC Racing Team +22"
  4. 16 Jasha Sütterlin Movistar Team +50"
  5. 74 Víctor De la Parte Movistar Team +2'16"
  6. 91 Eduardo Sepúlveda Movistar Team +2'56"
  7. 98 Jorge Arcas Movistar Team +3'08"
  8. 109 Héctor Carretero Movistar Team +3'34"
  9. 112 Nuno Bico Movistar Team +3'43"
  10. 115 Dayer Quintana Movistar Team +3'53"
See stage ranking