About us

The Movistar Team is the longest-running, most successful squad in pro cycling’s top tier, the UCI WorldTour, which gathers together the 18 most prestigious teams on the planet.

2019 will mark a huge milestone for the Blues as they fulfil the 40th consecutive season of activity with its 25-rider men’s team. The squad also includes a 12-member women’s team, active since 2018. Qualified professionals in support of those on the bikes complete an organisation employing more than 80 people.

Some of the team’s biggest current stars are World Road Race Champion Alejandro Valverde, Mavi García, Marc Soler, Eider Merino, Nairo Quintana, Sheyla Gutiérrez, Richard Carapaz, Małgorzata Jasińska and Mikel Landa, among many others.

Through its four-decade history, the team has known only five title sponsors: Reynolds (aluminum, 1980-89), Banesto (bank, 1990-2003), Illes Balears (tourism authority, 2004-05), Caisse d’Épargne (savings bank, 2006-10) and Telefónica (telecom, 2011-present). The squad is managed by the Abarca Sports society, based in Egüés, Navarra (Spain).

Together with more than 900 victories as a professional, Europe-based men’s structure -as well as more than twenty already obtained with its women’s squad-, the organisation has achieved six yearly titles as the best team in the world in 1992, 2008 and – under Telefónica’s sponsorship – 2013 to 2016 consecutively.

930 Total Wins
7 Tours de France
4 Vueltas a España
4 Giros d'Italia
4 World Championships
41 National Titles
119 Grand Tour stage wins