Iñigo Elosegui into stage six breakaway in Dubai

26 February 2021
Imagen de la noticia ‛Iñigo Elosegui into stage six breakaway in Dubai’

UAE Tour (et. 6)

Basque youngster from Movistar Team caught 25km from Palm Jumeirah’s finish after nice action against sand and crosswinds.

The Movistar Team wanted to offer their fans and general manager Eusebio Unzué -who turned 66 on Friday- a good performance on stage six, the penultimate day, of the 2021 UAE Tour, held over 168km between Dubai and the luxury complex of Palm Jumeirah.

Elosegui during his breakaway. (c) BettiniPhoto

The youngest member of the Telefónica-backed squad on Emirati soil, Iñigo Elosegui, got himself into a strong, early move with Lutsenko, Sánchez (APT), Valter, Ladagnous (GFC) and Gallopin (ACT), a move which was caught with about 20km from the end after some crosswinds attempts, created by Bora-hansgrohe, ostensibly reduced their margin.

The Movistar Team at the start of stage six.

It was a nice performance, in yet another learning, WorldTour event, for the Basque allrounder, which gives hope to a Blue outfit whose participation in the Middle East race will end on Saturday, with another sprint finish -Sam Bennett (DQT) took his second victory today-, this time in Abu Dhabi (147km).

Cover picture (c): BettiniPhoto

Male Team 21 - 27 Feb


(6th Stage) Dubai - Palm Jumeirah (168 km)
  1. 01 Sam Bennett Deceuninck - Quick Step 3h32'23"
  2. 02 Elia Viviani Cofidis "
  3. 03 Pascal Ackermann Bora-Hansgrohe "
  4. 41 Davide Villella Movistar Team "
  5. 55 Alejandro Valverde Movistar Team "
  6. 56 Gregor Mühlberger Movistar Team "
  7. 76 Héctor Carretero Movistar Team "
  8. 113 Iñigo Elosegui Movistar Team +2'27"
  9. 125 Antonio Pedrero Movistar Team +3'06"
  10. 126 Albert Torres Movistar Team "
See prov general ranking
  1. 01 Tadej Pogacar UAE Team Emirates 20h41'49"
  2. 02 Adam Yates Team INEOS +45"
  3. 03 Joao Almeida Deceuninck - Quick Step +1'12"
  4. 34 Davide Villella Movistar Team +15'41"
  5. 40 Alejandro Valverde Movistar Team +17'53"
  6. 53 Antonio Pedrero Movistar Team +23'25"
  7. 63 Gregor Mühlberger Movistar Team +30'03"
  8. 64 Héctor Carretero Movistar Team +31'59"
  9. 93 Iñigo Elosegui Movistar Team +40'06"
  10. 113 Albert Torres Movistar Team +47'08"
See stage ranking