López, Soler away from trouble at Martigny

28 April 2021
Imagen de la noticia ‛López, Soler away from trouble at Martigny’

Tour de Romandie (st. 1)

Movistar Team duo finishes inside selected peloton contesting the bunch sprint, with Sagan (BOH) victorious; Dennis (IGD) remains in the yellow jersey.

Peter Sagan (BOH) took the reduced sprint’s victory at the end of the first road stage in the 2021 Tour de Romandie, a 168km route from Aigle to Martigny over four laps of a circuit including the Cat-3 climbs of Produit and Chamoson. Rohan Dennis (IGD) retained his yellow jersey as he crossed the line inside a front group of nearly eighty riders.

The seven-man Blue roster riding together early on. (c) Movistar Team

Movistar Team had a pretty uneventful day -only Dario Cataldo had to take a foot off the pedal when involved into a crash on lap three, as he entered one of the climbs-. The Telefónica-backed squad had four of its riders -Miguel Ángel López, Marc Soler, Davide Villella and Cataldo- in the main group, which keeps the Colombian just under 20″ behind the yellow jersey.

Davide Villella (15th) was the top Blue finisher. (c) Movistar Team

The Swiss event will travel on Thursday’s stage two to Saint-Imier, in one of the most demanding routes of this week’s racing: six categorized climbs, including the ascent to La Vue-des-Alpes (Cat-1; 7.8km at 6.7%), just 17 kilometers away from the line.

Cover picture (c): Movistar Team

Male Team 27 Apr - 02 May

Tour de Romandie SUI

(2nd Stage) Aigle - Martigny (168.1 km)
  1. 01 Peter Sagan Bora-Hansgrohe 4h12'40"
  2. 02 Sonny Colbrelli Bahrain Victorious "
  3. 03 Patrick Bevin Israel Start-Up Nation "
  4. 15 Davide Villella Movistar Team "
  5. 49 Marc Soler Movistar Team "
  6. 62 Dario Cataldo Movistar Team "
  7. 73 Miguel Ángel López Movistar Team "
  8. 125 Mathias Norsgaard Movistar Team +10'36"
  9. 134 Johan Jacobs Movistar Team "
  10. 135 Albert Torres Movistar Team "
See prov general ranking
  1. 01 Rohan Dennis INEOS Grenadiers 4h18'06"
  2. 02 Geraint Thomas INEOS Grenadiers +9"
  3. 03 Richie Porte INEOS Grenadiers "
  4. 18 Miguel Ángel López Movistar Team +19"
  5. 35 Marc Soler Movistar Team +27"
  6. 54 Dario Cataldo Movistar Team +31"
  7. 57 Davide Villella Movistar Team +33"
  8. 126 Johan Jacobs Movistar Team +11'09"
  9. 130 Mathias Norsgaard Movistar Team +11'15"
  10. 133 Albert Torres Movistar Team +11'23"
See stage ranking