Movistar Team announces Tour de France shortlist
13 June 2017

14 names for nine spots

Nairo Quintana, Alejandro Valverde confirmed into nine-man squad for 'Grande Boucle'; definitive announcement to follow after National Championships next week

The Movistar Team announces that fourteen of its riders are into the shortlist for their nine-man roster in the 104th Tour de France, which starts on July 1st in Düsseldorf, Germany.

Nairo Quintana, who will put a backnumber on after five weeks off following his second place overall in the Giro d'Italia, and Alejando Valverde, in the most successful season ever by the man from Murcia, are already confirmed to be part of the Spanish outfit at the French grandtour.

Joining the Blues' two most remarkable names, Eusebio Unzué has selected twelve candidates to fulfil the seven remaining spots: Andrey Amador, Daniele Bennati, Carlos Betancur, Jonathan Castroviejo, Alex Dowsett, Imanol Erviti, Rubén Fernández, Jesús Herrada, Dani Moreno, Nelson Oliveira, José Joaquín Rojas and Jasha Sütterlin.

The Movistar Team's official, nine-man squad for the 2017 Tour will be unveiled after the national road race and time trial championships are ridden in Europe next week.