Madrazo lively at Balearic opener
05 February 2012

Trofeo Palma

The Spanish rider from Movistar Team gets three times onto the podium of the first event in the Challenge de Mallorca; Rojas takes 11th at bunch kick won by Fenn (OPQ)

Movistar Team had a good outing during the freezing Trofeo Palma, opening race of the 2012 Challenge de Mallorca over 116 kilometers and ten laps in the traditional urban circuit in the Balearic capital’s coastal boulevard.

Young Spaniard Ángel Madrazo made the most significant move of the day in the opening phase: initially a 13-rider group, the escape would increase to twenty riders -with two Blues as Iván Gutiérrez also joined for two laps-, what would allow the Cantabrian go first through both Primes of the day and also the second Rush, what took him three times into the day’s podium as winner of the Combination ranking.

The final sprint saw Scot Andrew Fenn (OPQ) winning as José Joaquín Rojas came just behind the top-ten in the first of two predictable bunch finishes for the Murcian. The second one will come on Monday with the 171-km Trofeo Migjorn, featuring just two minor, Cat. 4 climbs in the closing kilometers.

Movistar Team selection – Trofeo Migjorn 2012
: Rui Costa, Imanol Erviti, Jesús Herrada, Ignatas Konovalovas, Ángel Madrazo, Javi Moreno, Nairo Quintana, José Joaquín Rojas, Branislau Samoilau.