Tight fight in decisive TT
17 August 2014

Burgos (st. 4) / Eneco (st. 6)

Nairo Quintana hands over Vuelta a Burgos leader jersey to Moreno (KAT) after 1-second split at Villarcayo's finish; both with same time into Aranda's showdown

Picture (c): Vuelta a Burgos

One second which changes the whole picture. Nairo Quintana will roll off the start ramp of the decisive ITT in the Vuelta a Burgos tomorrow -12.4km in and around Aranda de Duero- in the penultimate turn as a small split into Villarcayo’s finish, a field sprint dominated by AG2R’s Lloyd Mondory (1st) and Sébastien Turgot (3rd) against Vicente Reynès (IAM, 2nd) made Dani Moreno (KAT), new race leader, and the Colombian from the Movistar Team tie in the standings. The position count that rules any ties makes Nairo slip back to 2nd place.

The new situation doesn’t dull Movistar Team’s fine performance through the day, with Javi Moreno vigilant in the day’s seven-man break leading the way until the final 45k, plus good work at the front of the bunch from Herrada and Szmyd. Quintana, who will wear the KOM jersey tomorrow, taken today and for good from Mirko Tedeschi’s (NRI) shoulders, will try to conquer his third overall success in 2014, after San Luis and the Giro d’Italia.

Dayer, Dowsett in the mix in the Ardennes
In turn, Dayer Quintana and Alex Dowsett shone in the penultimate stage of the Eneco Tour -174km from Heerlen to Aywaille, on top of La Redoute and over some tough climbs in the Walloon Ardenees-. The Briton was part of the day’s eight-man break, including top riders like Boonen (OPQ), Moser (CAN) or Haas (GRS); on the other hand, the Colombian kept the wheel of the main favourites and even attacked with over 10k from the finish, eventually suffering the pace in pursuit of Tim Wellens (LTB) -new leader of the race-. The youngest of the Quintana saga still finished well, 1’17” behind the winner, and should have another chance tomorrow on the final day in the Low Countries. 184km and almost thirty small ‘bergs’ will take the riders from Riemst to Sittard-Geleen.