Adriano climbs onto GC podium
10 April 2015

Circuit de la Sarthe (finale)

Navardauskas (TCG) turns GC upside down, wins La Sarthe in front of Boaro (TCS, 2rd) and Malori after Movistar's brilliant teamwork all over the four days of racing in France

He couldn't get to the highest step of the podium after his brave fight yesterday on the queen stage, yet Adriano Malori (Movistar Team) left the 2015 Circuit de la Sarthe with a more-than-deserved overall podium after an eventful finale in Le Lude's circuit (178km). 

Malori contested the first of two sprints at the peloton's reach together with his team-mates, once the original break was caught. However, it was a move from Ramunas Navardauskas (TCG), who had already earned 3" to take Malori out of 2nd place, which helped him to win the race, claiming another three seconds in the final intermediate rush.

Malori's magnificent one-two alongside Alex Dowsett on Wednesday's TT plus his third place overall are a satisfactory result for the Chente García Acosta-led group, which showed again yesterday one of their identity signs by fiercely defending their team-mate's jersey.

Final results

Picture ©: Bernard Larvol / Circuit de la Sarthe