Switzerland marks second way towards TdF

11 June 2015
Imagen de la noticia ‛Switzerland marks second way towards TdF’

Tour de Suisse

Rettenbachferner climb, Bern TT showdown set to decide last WT event before Grande Boucle; Movistar Team lining up Malori alongside climbing group -Moreno, Capecchi, Ion Izagirre, Anacona-

Winner Anacona, Ion Izagirre, Fran Ventoso, Adriano Malori, Javi Moreno, José Joaquín Rojas, Eros Capecchi and Igor Antón -with José Luis Jaimerena and José Luis Laguía as sports directors- are the eight riders the Movistar Team will bring to the 79th edition of the Tour de Suisse (Saturday 13th – Sunday, June 21st), the final UCI WorldTour event before the Tour de France starts in Utrecht on July 4th.

Though always demanding due to its nine days of racing -the longest stagerace after the three Grand Tours-, the Helvetic event gathers all attention into only two stages: a marathon route (237km) on day five, en route to the Rettenbachferner in Sölden (11.4km at 10'8% avg. with its summit at 2669m), and the 38km ITT in Bern, which will take the race to a close.

A 5.1km prologue in Rotkreuz -favouring Adriano Malori's chances, as the final time trial- rounds up a race route including several chances for sprinters. The telephone squad will try to seek Rojas's success in those, together with Ventoso.