Looking forward to San Sebastián, Pologne
27 July 2017

Weekend lineups

Blues continue with Basque classics' week at Donostia (Saturday 29th), will also compete at renewed Polish stagerace (thru Friday 4th), featuring no TT and four hilly stages

The Movistar Team continues to squeeze its month of July as they send two teams to the Basque Country this weekend for the 37th Clásica San Sebastián (Saturday 29th) and the 74th Tour de Pologne (29th-August 4th).

Over at the most prestigious race in eastern Europe, the Blues will bring a roster directed by José Luis Jaimerena and José Luis Laguía which features José Joaquín Rojas, Nelson Oliveira, Rory Sutherland, Gorka Izagirre, Winner Anacona, Dayer Quintana and Alex Dowsett. The 2017 route, with no time trials and extra difficulty for all teams with only seven riders allowed, favours climbers: the classic hilly stages at Zakopane and Bukowina remain -closing the race on Thursday 3rd and Friday 4th-; with two other lumpy stages added in Szczyrk (final kilometer at 11%), on Friday 31st; and Rzeszów, a Cat-2 climb just 11km from the finish on Wednesday 2nd.

In turn, at the biggest one-day race in Spain, José Luis Arrieta will be in charge of an eight-man roster composed by Rubén Fernández, Víctor de la Parte, Imanol Erviti, Richard Carapaz, Héctor Carretero, José Herrada, Dani Moreno and Jonathan Castroviejo. The 'Klasikoa' keeps its route intact from 2016, with the steep Murgil Tontorra ascent in its final circuit around Donostia, after 231km that also include the dual ascents of Jaizkibel and Arkale.