Carapaz remains into Giro’s top-ten after ITT

22 May 2018
Imagen de la noticia ‛Carapaz remains into Giro’s top-ten after ITT’

Giro d'Italia (st. 16)

Ecuadorian climber from Movistar Team now 9th overall after demanding time trial; battle still really tight -only 30″- against López (AST) for white jersey.

Rohan Dennis (BMC) took the win at the longest ITT of the 2018 Giro d’Italia, held on Tuesday over 34km from Trento to Rovereto. The route, full of long straights and flat roads until the last section slightly uphill, saw tailwinds making for significant margins, yet didn’t change the overall leadership by Simon Yates (MTS).

Richard Carapaz had to face a really difficult test against big specialists, a hurdle the Ecuadorian rider from the Movistar Team got through with strength. His 42’57” was three minutes slower than Dennis’ and made him concede his place overall against Chris Froome (SKY), yet the Carchí native did not lost much terrain against all other climbers, limiting his margin to 10″ against Maglia Bianca rival Miguel Ángel López (AST), now 30″ ahead of ‘Richie’ in the standings (7th and 9th in the GC, respectively). In turn, Carlos Betancur remained in the 14th place he held overnight, now nine minutes behind Yates.

The Giro will seek for a final day for attackers or even a chance for the sprinters in Iseo (155km) before the brutal trio of decisive mountain stages from ThursdayPratonevoso opening the block; Finestre and Jafferau (Friday) as main course; and Saint-Pantaléon, Tsecore and Cervinia (Saturday) to define the GC outcome.

Male Team 04 - 27 May

Giro d'Italia ITA

(16th Stage) Trento - Rovereto (CRI / ITT) (34.2 km)
  1. 01 Rohan Dennis BMC Racing Team 40'00"
  2. 02 Tony Martin Katusha-Alpecin +14"
  3. 03 Tom Dumoulin Team Sunweb +22"
  4. 38 Carlos Betancur Movistar Team +2'33"
  5. 52 Richard Carapaz Movistar Team +2'57"
  6. 86 Víctor De la Parte Movistar Team +3'51"
  7. 88 Eduardo Sepúlveda Movistar Team +3'56"
  8. 144 Rubén Fernández Movistar Team +5'28"
  9. 152 Antonio Pedrero Movistar Team +5'55"
  10. 161 Dayer Quintana Movistar Team +6'38"
See prov general ranking
  1. 01 Simon Yates Mitchelton-Scott 66h39'14"
  2. 02 Tom Dumoulin Team Sunweb +56"
  3. 03 Domenico Pozzovivo Bahrain-Merida +3'11"
  4. 09 Richard Carapaz Movistar Team +6'07"
  5. 14 Carlos Betancur Movistar Team +8'56"
  6. 44 Víctor De la Parte Movistar Team +1h16'41"
  7. 88 Dayer Quintana Movistar Team +2h23'01"
  8. 100 Antonio Pedrero Movistar Team +2h40'41"
  9. 106 Eduardo Sepúlveda Movistar Team +2h46'39"
  10. 117 Rubén Fernández Movistar Team +2h57'30"
See stage ranking