Carapaz & Movistar Team: a breakthrough Giro

27 May 2018
Imagen de la noticia ‛Carapaz & Movistar Team: a breakthrough Giro’

Corsa Rosa's 101st edition comes to its end

Ecuadorian strengthens image as one of international cycling’s biggest prospects with a brilliant stage win in Montevergine and 4th spot overall – the Telefónica-backed squad’s fifth consecutive result within the top-5 overall in the Giro.

Briton Chris Froome (SKY) claimed overall honours at the end of Sunday’s closing stage in the 2018 Giro de Italia, getting safely through an urban circuit (10 laps, 115km) in Rome whose times were neutralized by the organisers and the race jury after the first three passages through the finish. Sam Bennett (BOH) pipped Elia Viviani (QST) for the day’s victory at the Via dei Fori Imperiali.

The Movistar Team‘s arrival to the ‘Eternal City’ put an end to a fine race led by an extraordinary performance from its designated leader: Richard Carapaz. The Ecuadorian -who received before the start a recognition from his country’s Consulate in Rome– make the Blues shine immensely during the race, the Carchí native obtaining three major achievements. Carapaz wore the Maglia Bianca as best under-26 competitor for eight days (he finished 2nd to Miguel Ángel López); won stage eight of the race, with a brutal attack to win atop Montevergine’s climb; and completed a splendid progression overall through the last two Alpine stages, from ninth place after the long ITT to fourth, only behind López (AST, 3rd) himself, Tom Dumoulin (SUN, 2nd) and Froome.

Carapaz extended in this year’s Giro a streak of stage wins by the Telefónica-backed squad in Italy to eight consecutive years and prolonged a run which speaks volumes about the Movistar Team’s implication in the Giro: for the fifth time on a row, a rider in Eusebio Unzué’s ranks -represented in 2018 by Betancur (15th in the GC), De la Parte, Fernández, Pedrero, Dayer Quintana, Sepúlveda and injured Rafa Vallsfinishes within the top five overall, after Quintana -winner in 2014; runner-up in 2017-, Valverde -3rd in 2016- and Amador -4th in 2015-.