A race of impossible sprints

17 August 2018
Imagen de la noticia ‛A race of impossible sprints’

BinckBank Tour (st. 5)

Cort (AST) claims victory as break succeeds for third consecutive time in 2018 BinckBank Tour; Jasha Sütterlin heads into two decisive stages still 50″ behind GC lead.

For the third day on a row, a stage which seemed like perfect for the sprinters in the 2018 BinckBank Tour -one of the longest in this year’s race, 209km from Sint-Pieters-Leeuw to Lanaken- ended up being neglected by a breakaway. It was Magnus Cort (AST) who took today’s opportunity to surge from a four-rider move and baffle the top teams’ work.

Once again, the Movistar Team had only one job in keeping Jasha Sütterlin safe before the weekend’s two key stages starting on Saturday. The German rouleur did not have any troubles today, finishing in 22nd place to retain his current 15th spot overall, 50″ behind Slovenia’s Matej Mohoric (TBM).

Jasha will have to face an endless series of little ‘bergs’ in Limburg, during the 182km stage six from Riemst to Sittard/Geleen, before Sunday’s majestic showdown in the ‘hellingen’ of the Tour of Flanders.

Male Team 13 - 19 Aug

BinckBank Tour BEL/NED

(5th Stage) Sint-Pieters-Leeuw - Lanaken (209.2 km)
  1. 01 Magnus Cort Astana Pro Team 4h39'50"
  2. 02 Julius van den Berg EF - Drapac "
  3. 03 Alexis Gougeard AG2R La Mondiale "
  4. 22 Jasha Sütterlin Movistar Team +33"
  5. 67 Dayer Quintana Movistar Team "
  6. 76 Héctor Carretero Movistar Team "
  7. 77 Nuno Bico Movistar Team "
  8. 82 Eduardo Sepúlveda Movistar Team "
  9. 100 Víctor De la Parte Movistar Team "
  10. 107 Jorge Arcas Movistar Team "
See prov general ranking
  1. 01 Matej Mohoric Bahrain-Merida 16h28'51"
  2. 02 Sean de Bie Vérandas Willems-Crelan +3"
  3. 03 Stefan Küng BMC Racing Team +22"
  4. 15 Jasha Sütterlin Movistar Team +50"
  5. 61 Víctor De la Parte Movistar Team +2'16"
  6. 85 Eduardo Sepúlveda Movistar Team +2'56"
  7. 91 Jorge Arcas Movistar Team +3'08"
  8. 101 Héctor Carretero Movistar Team +3'34"
  9. 105 Nuno Bico Movistar Team +3'43"
  10. 109 Dayer Quintana Movistar Team +3'53"
See stage ranking