Valverde becomes Movistar Team’s all-time most winning rider
15 November 2018

Overtook Indurain this season

Current World Champion -99 wins for the Abarca Sports organisation- leads history stats for the Blues since late this 2018 season; Nairo Quintana also on the podium.

The 2018 season has marked yet another achievement into the endless list of honours for Alejandro Valverde with the Movistar Team. The wearer of the coveted rainbow jersey has become, since he grabbed victory on stage eight of the Vuelta a España, the most winning rider for the European men’s pro squads managed by the Abarca Sports organisation, since its inception in 1980.

The marvel from Murcia -122 pro victories-, who overtook Miguel Indurain on September 1st, is now also one victory short to become the first ever rider to claim a hundred wins with Echávarri and Unzué. Behind Valverde’s 99 and Indurain’s 97 sits another active Blue rider: Nairo Quintana, whose 36 wins put him five ahead of Julián Gorospe (31), whom he took out of the podium during the 2017 season.

The top-ten is completed by José Luis Laguía (26, 5th), the late ‘Chava’ Jiménez (25, sixth), Pedro Delgado (22, seventh), Iván Gutiérrez (21, eighth), Abraham Olano (18, tenth) and another active rider: Rui Costa, the only rainbow jersey holder with Abarca before Valverde, whose 19 victories put him into ninth overall. Aspiring to get into that list, yet still a couple steps behind, are current pros José Joaquín Rojas (10) and Carlos Barbero (8).

The full list of winners in Movistar Team colours, which features up to 136 names, is available on our website’s History Stats section.