Prades, Mas still fully in Provence contention

16 February 2019
Imagen de la noticia ‛Prades, Mas still fully in Provence contention’

Tour de la Provence (st. 3)

Edu -8th overall, 11th today-, Lluís -12th in GC- finish with Antonio Pedrero inside main GC group at Circuit Paul Ricard; Gorka Izagirre (AST) stays in the lead with one day remaining.

Despite all attempts to split the field in the five laps of the circuit around the Côte du Brulat -just over 3km at 7% gradient-, there were no significant gaps at the end of stage three in the 2019 Tour de la Provence, starting in Aubagne and finishing at the Le Castellet track, venue for the Formula 1 French Grand Prix

25-rider group, led home by Philippe Gilbert (DQT), reached the finish together after the attacks against race leader Gorka Izagirre (AST) were not taken to fruition. Inside that first echelon, and following a big effort after initially missing out, were three riders from the Movistar Team: the eve’s winner Edu Prades, 11th across the line; Lluís Mas, once again really solid to take 14th; and Antonio Pedrero, who dropped back only in the final meters.

The work by the squad directed José Luis Jaimerena helps Prades and Mas stay in 8th and 12th overall, respectively, within a minute of the ‘mondrian’ leader’s jersey, with one stage to go: day four, Avignon to Aix-en-Provence, over 173km of lumpy roads where attacks will surely appear again.

On a negative, final sidenote, Daniele Bennati was a DNS for stage three after he caught fever and illness during Friday.

Male Team 14 - 17 Feb

Tour de la Provence FRA

(3rd Stage) Aubagne - Circuit Paul Ricard (185.8 km)
  1. 01 Philippe Gilbert Deceuninck - Quick Step 4h25'10"
  2. 02 Toms Skujins Trek-Segafredo "
  3. 03 Tony Gallopin AG2R La Mondiale "
  4. 11 Edu Prades Movistar Team "
  5. 14 Lluís Mas Movistar Team "
  6. 24 Antonio Pedrero Movistar Team +19"
  7. 57 Jasha Sütterlin Movistar Team +10'31"
  8. 72 Jaime Castrillo Movistar Team "
  9. 100 Imanol Erviti Movistar Team "
  10. —  Daniele Bennati Movistar Team DNS
See prov general ranking
  1. 01 Gorka Izagirre Astana Pro Team 9h25'55"
  2. 02 Thibaut Pinot Groupama-FDJ +2"
  3. 03 Tony Gallopin AG2R La Mondiale "
  4. 08 Edu Prades Movistar Team +21"
  5. 12 Lluís Mas Movistar Team +49"
  6. 23 Antonio Pedrero Movistar Team +1'42"
  7. 59 Imanol Erviti Movistar Team +11'48"
  8. 63 Imanol Erviti Movistar Team +13'04"
  9. 65 Jaime Castrillo Movistar Team +13'13"
See stage ranking