Rojas into third consecutive break in Tirreno for Movistar Team

18 March 2019
Imagen de la noticia ‛Rojas into third consecutive break in Tirreno for Movistar Team’

Tirreno-Adriatico (st. 6)

Spaniard spends 190km into seven-man escape prior to bunch sprint in Jesi -won by Alaphilippe (DQT)-, 10km ITT showdown in San Benedetto del Tronto on Tuesday.

Following Lluís Mas’ brave attempt on Saturday’s Fossombrone stage four and Jorge Arcas’ escape on Sunday towards Recanati, another Spanish rider from the Movistar Team wore the Blue colours at the front during the penultimate stage of the 2019 Tirreno-Adriatico -195km between Matelica and Jesi- with a breakaway from José Joaquín Rojas.

The veteran allrounder from Murcia joined a seven-man move alongside Gijs Van Hoecke (CPT), Igor Boev (GAZ), Mirco Maestri (BRD), Davide Ballerini (AST), Dayer Quintana (NSK) and Ben King (TDD), a group never left more than three minutes ahead by the insistence of teams with sprinters. Rojas, who attempted to squeeze his chances by creating a further selection inside the last circuit -with only Ballerini following him-, was caught with just 4km to go, after 190 at the front, before a chaotic bunch sprint saw Julian Alaphilippe (DQT) taking a surprise victory.

No incidents for the Blues during stage six. (c) Luca Bettini / BettiniPhoto

Richard Carapaz remains in the overall top-20 before the traditional ITT showdown (10km) in San Benedetto del Tronto on Tuesday, a final effort in Italy four days before Milano-Sanremo.

— 2019 Tirreno-Adriatico TT start times (Tuesday 19th, all CET): Prades 14.20, Arcas 14.29, Sütterlin 14.51, Rojas 15.09, Oliveira 15.19, Carapaz 15.32.

Cover picture (c): Luca Bettini / BettiniPhoto.net

Male Team 13 - 19 Mar

Tirreno-Adriatico ITA

(6th Stage) Matelica - Jesi (195 km)
  1. 01 Julian Alaphilippe Deceuninck - Quick Step 4h42'11"
  2. 02 Davide Cimolai Israel Cycling Academy "
  3. 03 Elia Viviani Deceuninck - Quick Step "
  4. 27 Jasha Sütterlin Movistar Team "
  5. 34 Richard Carapaz Movistar Team "
  6. 51 Jorge Arcas Movistar Team "
  7. 66 Edu Prades Movistar Team +18"
  8. 98 José Joaquín Rojas Movistar Team +1'56"
  9. 121 Nelson Oliveira Movistar Team +4'28"
See prov general ranking
  1. 01 Adam Yates Mitchelton-Scott 25h15'59"
  2. 02 Primoz Roglic Jumbo - Visma +25"
  3. 03 Jakob Fuglsang Astana Pro Team +35"
  4. 17 Richard Carapaz Movistar Team +4'47"
  5. 30 Nelson Oliveira Movistar Team +17'25"
  6. 40 José Joaquín Rojas Movistar Team +21'07"
  7. 58 Jasha Sütterlin Movistar Team +31'03"
  8. 80 Jorge Arcas Movistar Team +42'22"
  9. 89 Edu Prades Movistar Team +45'49"
See stage ranking