Anacona, Landa top Movistar Team performers in Itzulia opener

8 April 2019
Imagen de la noticia ‛Anacona, Landa top Movistar Team performers in Itzulia opener’

Vuelta al País Vasco (et. 1)

Telefónica-backed squad hampered by rain, only affecting the early starters; Winner, Mikel finish within one minute behind first race leader Schachmann (BOH).

A spectacular display over the difficult ITT opener (11.2km) in the 2019 Itzulia Basque Country in Zumárraga awarded the victory to Germany’s Max Schachmann (BOH), ahead of all main GC contenders in a route divided into three sectors: a fast, wide-road start; tough slopes up to 21% in the La Antigua hill; and a difficult descent back to the little city in the heart of Gipuzkoa.

The Movistar Team had its main GC hope for the event, Mikel Landa, starting as first from the seven team members, based on a weather forecast which predicted more and more rain during the afternoon. However, and despite the 18’04” posted by the Basque climber putting him into provisional 2nd, 30″ behind long-time day’s leader Enric Mas (DQT), the sun breaking the clouds during the second half of the race favoured the late starters, and left the Murgia native 54″ behind the GC leader. Just ahead of the Spaniard, and halfway through the day’s start list, was Winner Anacona, the Blues’ top finisher, 50″ down.

The Vuelta al País Vasco will visit on Tuesday the Navarra roads where the Movistar Team has its headquarters. The challenging, spectacular stage two will feature six gravel road sections in the last 60km towards Gorráiz, a narrow, slightly uphill finish.

Cover picture (c): Photo Gomez Sport

Male Team 08 - 13 Apr

Itzulia Basque Country ESP

(1st Stage) Zumarraga (CRI / ITT) (11.2 km)
  1. 01 Max Schachmann Bora-Hansgrohe 17'10"
  2. 02 Daniel Martínez EF Education First +9"
  3. 03 Michal Kwiatkowski Team Sky +10"
  4. 25 Winner Anacona Movistar Team +50"
  5. 29 Mikel Landa Movistar Team +54"
  6. 47 Rubén Fernández Movistar Team +1'08"
  7. 67 Antonio Pedrero Movistar Team +1'20"
  8. 71 Carlos Verona Movistar Team +1'25"
  9. 97 Carlos Betancur Movistar Team +1'39"
  10. 98 José Joaquín Rojas Movistar Team +1'40"