Indurain elected all-time fan favourite by Movistar Team followers
20 April 2019

Twitter mass poll

'Big Mig' edges out Alejandro Valverde, Pedro Delgado and José María Jiménez at series of polls published at squad's official Twitter account during Easter week.

two thousand cycling fans and Movistar Team followers chose on Saturday evening their favourite rider from the Abarca Sports organisation in its 40 years of existence. Alejandro Valverde and Miguel Indurain were the two cyclists selected through the Easter week from a list of forty pre-selected members of both men’s and women’s teams, a ‘competition’ held on Twitter with the hashtag #40AñosDeCiclismo (40 Years of Cycling).

At the final rounds held today, Valverde (76-24%) and Indurain (81-19%) won bested their semi-final pairings against the other two riders victorious in the quarter-finals, Pedro Delgado and José María Jiménez. The big final saw Indurain’s victory by an incredibly narrow <1% against Valverde (50-50%, show Twitter’s statistics, with an edge for Indurain), which shows the prestige, recognition and, above all, love expressed by cycling and Movistar Team fans to arguably the organisation’s top two legends.


Winner: Miguel Indurain
Runner-up: Alejandro Valverde
Semi-final: Pedro Delgado, José María Jiménez
Quarter-final: Joaquim Rodríguez, Chente García Acosta, Marc Soler, Abraham Olano
Round of 16: Luis León Sánchez, Mavi García, Nairo Quintana, Imanol Erviti, Óscar Pereiro, David Arroyo, Eider Merino, Rubén Plaza
First round: Rui Costa, Adriano Malori, Pablo Lastras, José Luis Laguía, Iván Gutiérrez, Andrey Amador, Mikel Landa, Malgorzata Jasinska, Alex Zülle, Giovanni Visconti, Ángel Arroyo, Richard Carapaz, Dominique Arnaud, Paco Mancebo, Julián Gorospe, Unai Osa
Preliminary round: Beñat Intxausti, Armand de las Cuevas, Juan Antonio Flecha, José Joaquín Rojas, Alex Dowsett, Jean-François Bernard, Denis Menchov, Vladimir Karpets

Picture (c): 1) Ciclismo a Fondo archive; 2) Photo Gomez Sport