Movistar Team looking forward to mountains in Switzerland

19 June 2019
Imagen de la noticia ‛Movistar Team looking forward to mountains in Switzerland’

Tour de Suisse (st. 5)

Anacona, Mas, Soler, Betancur all within top-20 overall before four key days in Suisse; Viviani (DQT) wins another bunch sprint in Einsiedeln.

The sprinters again owned Wednesday’s finish, theoretically a tough one for them en route to Einsiedeln, on day five of the 2019 Tour de Suisse (177km), as they overcame the final two climbs to contest a cobbled finish with identical result to Tuesday’s: Elia Viviani (DQT) as day’s winner, Peter Sagan (BOH) stronger in the lead.

Héctor Carretero early on stage five. (c) Vincent Kalut / PN / BettiniPhoto

The Movistar Team got safely through the final day of the ‘transition’ between the opening ITT and the mountain stages which, together with Saturday’s second time trial in Goms, should define the GC outcome. Anacona -now 10th overall, +40″-, Mas, Soler, Betancur -all four within the top-20-, Roelandts and Barbero finished inside a main peloton that should finally split on Thursday as the riders tackle the first big mountain.

really short stage six, 120 km in length, will lead the Tour de Suisse peloton to the top of the Flumserberg (Cat-1), 8.5 kilometers at 9%, which should bring forward the candidates to win the race on Sunday.

Cover picture (c): BettiniPhoto

Male Team 15 - 23 Jun

Tour de Suisse SUI

(5th Stage) Münchenstein - Einsiedeln (177 km)
  1. 01 Elia Viviani Deceuninck - Quick Step 4h18'26"
  2. 02 Peter Sagan Bora-Hansgrohe "
  3. 03 Jasper Stuyven Trek-Segafredo "
  4. 19 Carlos Betancur Movistar Team "
  5. 20 Lluís Mas Movistar Team "
  6. 42 Winner Anacona Movistar Team "
  7. 48 Marc Soler Movistar Team "
  8. 63 Carlos Barbero Movistar Team "
  9. 79 Jürgen Roelandts Movistar Team "
  10. 128 Héctor Carretero Movistar Team +2'32"
See prov general ranking
  1. 01 Peter Sagan Bora-Hansgrohe 15h55'48"
  2. 02 Michael Matthews Team Sunweb +14"
  3. 03 Kasper Asgreen Deceuninck - Quick Step +21"
  4. 10 Winner Anacona Movistar Team +40"
  5. 16 Lluís Mas Movistar Team +49"
  6. 17 Marc Soler Movistar Team +51"
  7. 20 Carlos Betancur Movistar Team +55"
  8. 55 Héctor Carretero Movistar Team +3'58"
  9. 58 Carlos Barbero Movistar Team +4'45"
  10. 122 Jürgen Roelandts Movistar Team +24'40"
See stage ranking