Carretero wins KOM classification in Tirreno-Adriático

14 September 2020
Imagen de la noticia ‛Carretero wins KOM classification in Tirreno-Adriático’

Tirreno-Adriatico (finale)

Combative performance from Telefónica-backed squad during second half of Italian stagerace, with two breaks from Héctor + Sergio Samitier’s courageous effort last Sunday.

Briton Simon Yates (MTS) conquered the 55th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico (UCI WorldTour) on Monday, as he got safely through the traditional, flat, final 10km individual time trial in San Benedetto del Tronto.

Yates was joined on the final podium by Geraint Thomas (IGD) and Rafal Majka (BOH) as Filippo Ganna (IGD) won the TT, with Matteo Jorgenson as top Movistar Team performer, 1’04” down on the day’s victor.

Carretero with the KOM classification skinsuit during the 2020 Tirreno-Adriatico TT. (c) LaPresse

The roster directed by Chente García Acosta and Maximilian Sciandri on Italian soil visited the final podium thanks to Héctor Carretero’s win in the KOM classification, unofficially sealed last Sunday and made possible by big efforts in the most mountainous stages on Thursday and Friday.

The Blues got back to the fore of the race on Sunday with another break from Sergio Samitier, another courageous member from a Telefónica-backed squad which enjoyed here its most relevant warm-up event before next month’s Giro d’Italia. The Blues will be back in action on Wednesday for the Giro della Toscana.

Cover picture (c): BettiniPhoto