Well motivated for La Rioja
19 April 2012

Vuelta a la Rioja

After winning in the last three races held in Spain, Movistar Team will try to continue their victorious streak and become the successor of Imanol Erviti (2011)

Movistar Team continue with their run through the Spanish spring races, having won in the last three: País Vasco (a stage triumph with José Joaquín Rojas, Amorebieta (Visconti) and Castilla y León (Moreno took the overall). The next race to cover comes on Sunday with the 52nd Vuelta a La Rioja, an event keeping their gamble for one-day action where the squad directed by José Luis Jaimerena already took the win last season with Imanol Erviti, who will not be defending his title as he races Liège-Bastogne-Liège in Belgium on Sunday.

The Blues set to keep the team’s pavillion high will be Juanjo Cobo, Jonathan Castroviejo, Ignatas Konovalovas, Enrique Sanz, Vladimir Karpets, David López, Jesús Herrada and the recent winner of the Vuelta a Castilla y León, Javi Moreno. The Riojan race is a 190-kilometer trek with four Cat. 3 climbs, the last two tackled with just 20k from the finishing line.