Breakaway prevails on stage two; crucial mountain TT on Friday

26 April 2018
Imagen de la noticia ‛Breakaway prevails on stage two; crucial mountain TT on Friday’

Tour de Romandie (st. 2)

De Gendt (LTS) beats bunch in Yverdon at eve of two crucial mountain stages in Tour de Romandie; Amador remains at top Movistar Team riders overall, 18″ behind Primoz Roglic (TLJ).

Thomas de Gendt (LTS) took to fruition on Thursday’s stage two in the 2018 Tour de Romandie, 174km from Delémont to Yverdon, a break started together with four other riders after just 4km into the route. The Belgian came across the line with more than two minutes over a peloton unable to bring back a group which ammassed a strong, seven-minute advantage through the halfway point of the stage.

The Movistar Team could just look at the sprinters’ teams’ work to secure a sprint finish before taking on their real chances in the race, as the mountains really loom from Friday. Together with Saturday’s Queen stage, the GC will be decided from tomorrow with a tough mountain TT from Ollon to Villars, 10km on average slopes exceeding 8%.

Andrey Amador remains as top Blue performer overall –20th, 18″ down on Primoz Roglic (TLJ)- after a day where all of the other five Movistar Team members racing in Switzerland -including Jaime Rosón, first at the finish (24th)- finished inside the main field.

Male Team 24 - 29 Apr

Tour de Romandie SUI

(3rd Stage) Delémont - Yverdon (173.9 km)
  1. 01 Thomas De Gendt Lotto Soudal 4h03'05"
  2. 02 Sonny Colbrelli Bahrain-Merida +2'04"
  3. 03 Samuel Dumoulin AG2R La Mondiale "
  4. 24 Jaime Rosón Movistar Team "
  5. 48 Andrey Amador Movistar Team "
  6. 62 Dayer Quintana Movistar Team "
  7. 68 Winner Anacona Movistar Team "
  8. 69 Eduardo Sepúlveda Movistar Team "
  9. 82 Carlos Betancur Movistar Team "
See prov general ranking
  1. 01 Primoz Roglic LottoNLJumbo 8h14'25"
  2. 02 Rohan Dennis BMC Racing Team "
  3. 03 Geraint Thomas Team Sky +4"
  4. 20 Andrey Amador Movistar Team +18"
  5. 27 Eduardo Sepúlveda Movistar Team +21"
  6. 34 Carlos Betancur Movistar Team +25"
  7. 36 Jaime Rosón Movistar Team "
  8. 45 Winner Anacona Movistar Team +29"
  9. 51 Dayer Quintana Movistar Team +40"
See stage ranking