Long breakaway by Sütterlin in De Panne; pile-up takes Blues out of contention

27 March 2019
Imagen de la noticia ‛Long breakaway by Sütterlin in De Panne; pile-up takes Blues out of contention’

Driedaagse Brugge - De Panne

German rouleur from Movistar Team in the lead for 170km at main escape of new WorldTour event in Belgium; crash affects José Joaquín Rojas -no injuries-, avoids Barbero, Roelandts contesting bunch sprint.

Dylan Groenewegen (TLJ) took a convincing sprint victory at the end of the second edition -as one-day race- of the men’s Driedaagse Brugge – De Panne, over 200km of an eminently flat course in West Vlaanderen, featuring cobbled climbs such as the famous Kemmelberg.

The Dutchman bested Fernando Gaviria (UAD, 2nd) and Elia Viviani (DQT, 3rd) into a group of 30 riders, split by a pile-up with 10km remaining, inside the final circuit. The incident, a touch of wheels between José Joaquín Rojas (Movistar Team) and a rider from Wanty, did not cause any major injuries to the Spaniard, yet did take him out of contention despite his great position in the bunch all day, just like team-mates Carlos Barbero and Jürgen Roelandts.

Roelandts at the start. (c) Jan De Meuleneir / PN / BettiniPhoto

On the other hand, the Chente García Acosta-led outfit enjoyed a considerable amount of time at the lead of the race with a 170km early breakaway from Jasha Sütterlin along with five other riders -caught with just 8km to go-. The whole Blue lineup will be back racing in Flanders Friday, at a more demanding, prestigious E3 BinckBank Classic in Harelbeke.

Male Team 27 Mar

Tres Días Brujas - De Panne BEL

Brugge - De Panne (200.3 Km)
  1. 01 Dylan Groenewegen Jumbo - Visma 4h36'32
  2. 02 Fernando Gaviria UAE Team Emirates "
  3. 03 Elia Viviani Deceuninck - Quick Step "
  4. 42 Jasha Sütterlin Movistar Team +33"
  5. 56 Jorge Arcas Movistar Team +1'33"
  6. 85 Carlos Barbero Movistar Team +2'33"
  7. 89 Jaime Castrillo Movistar Team "
  8. 102 Jürgen Roelandts Movistar Team "
  9. 154 José Joaquín Rojas Movistar Team 9'08"
  10. —  Héctor Carretero Movistar Team DNF