Anacona into final breakaway in Italy, takes 12th overall
28 July 2019

Adriatica Ionica Race (finale)

Colombian from Movistar Team into escape until last 25km of wet, decisive Sunday stage to Trieste; Hodeg (DQT) wins bunch sprint as Padun (TBM) secures overall title.

Ukranian Mark Padun (TBM) secured the overall victory in the 2nd edition of the Adriatica Ionica Race, finishing under the rain on Sunday’s stage five, a fast-paced sprinters’ course from Cormons to Trieste (103km).

Colombian Álvaro Hodeg (DQT) notched up his second win in the race after the Prosecco ascent (Cat-3), the last climb of the day, saw the leader’s team bringing back a four-man early break with Joel Nicolau (CJR), Matteo Badilatti (ICA), Thimo Willems (SVB) and Winner Anacona (Movistar Team), who sought to improve his overall result until the very end.

Prades at the finish in Trieste. (c) Dario Belingheri / BettiniPhoto

It was a 12th spot in the GC for the Boyacá native, the Blues’ best performer at the mountain stage towards Lavaredo on Friday and leader of a Movistar Team which had Edu Prades –7th yesterday at the Monte Quarin and part of the leading group in the sterrato stage– also in the fight for stage wins on Italian soil.

Cover picture (c): BettiniPhoto