Roelandts, Erić both 10th in Kuurne, Tielt

1 March 2020
Imagen de la noticia ‛Roelandts, Erić both 10th in Kuurne, Tielt’

KBK / Omloop van het Hageland

Belgian gets good support from young team-mates, remains at the front in second Flemish classic of 2020; Serbian champion in the mix after Biannic’s breakaway, Blues’ work for the finalsprint.

Leaving aside (yet another) tenth spot by Albert Torres and Sebastián Mora at the Madison race of the Berlin Track Worlds held on Sunday, the Movistar Team’s two opening races of the Belgian month of March had two two-ten finishes as a result. Jurgen Roelandts was 10th at Kuurne-Brussel-Kuurne, behind solo winner Kasper Asgreen (DQT), while Jelena Erić took 10th at the Omloop van het Hageland, notched up by the world’s most dominante sprinter, Lorena Wiebes (PHV).

Erić smiles following Sunday’s race. (c) Velofocus

The women’s race was a flurry of attacks from the start, which contributed to make the inevitable bunch sprint considerably harder. At the moves featured notably two of the Movistar Team riders: Alba Teruel, ahead into the first half of the race, and Aude Biannic, brought back 25km before the end from a strong, 15-woman group. The riders directed by Jorge Sanz -with González, Gutiérrez and Barbara Guarischi pushing hard- then switched their intentions to supporting Erić, who also hopes to put her decent top speed to good use with the Blues.

Biannic -a strong performer for the Blues, just like at Omloop- during her break. (c) Velofocus

At the final sprint in the men’s event also showed up Roelandts, really well supported by his Movistar team-mates, with four members -Jürgen, Edu Prades (15th), Matteo Jorgenson and Johan Jacobs (who turned 23 on Sunday)- inside a bunch working hard yet unfruitfully to chase down Asgreen. The Dane would end up winning with three seconds over the top sprinters. The Pablo Lastras-led squad is returning home today, while the Blue ladies will stay in Belgium for an additional two days to tackle Tuesday’s Le Samyn.

2020 Omloop van het Hageland results

Male Team 01 Mar

Kuurne-Brussel-Kuurne BEL

Kuurne (201 Km)
  1. 01 Kasper Asgreen Deceuninck - Quick Step 4h47'18"
  2. 02 Giacomo Nizzolo NTT Pro Cycling Team +3"
  3. 03 Alexander Kristoff UAE Team Emirates "
  4. 10 Jürgen Roelandts Movistar Team "
  5. 15 Edu Prades Movistar Team "
  6. 24 Matteo Jorgenson Movistar Team "
  7. 34 Johan Jacobs Movistar Team "
  8. 89 Juri Hollmann Movistar Team +7'10"
  9. 109 Gabriel Cullaigh Movistar Team "
  10. —  Lluís Mas Movistar Team DNF