Movistar Team Challenge to hold its Finals on March 4th / 5th
01 March 2021

Final step of the race towards our esports team

40 finalists (20 men and 20 women) of talent ID contest to select eight Movistar eTeam members to face off at threshold tests and circuit races this week; final decision to be made in mid March.

After a preliminary phase and four main races to reduce the 2,000-entrant field to just 40 candidates (20 men and 20 women), the Movistar Team Challenge, the talent ID contest that will help the Blues select eight of its ten Movistar eTeam members -the other two will be picked from the Spanish-speaking community on Zwift-, comes to its end this week with the Finals.

On Thursday 4th (men) and Friday 5th (women), at 8pm CET, the finalists -who have already handed the Movistar Team over a short bio and their social media profiles, in order to be assessed with regards to their marketing image- will tackle two physical tests: an FTP effort and a circuit race, over 15 laps with points at every passage through the finish, to show their power and intelligence on the trainer.

The results from the Finals, as well as the marketing and communication skills of the finalists and other values detected by team members will lead to a final choice, expected for mid March, and the definitive, 10-rider roster of the 2021 Movistar eTeam, the first esports squad from a UCI WorldTour / Women’s WorldTour-licensed organisation. The official team announcement will be done in collaboration with Global Cycling Network.


Men: Brian Duffy, Brian Hodges, Chris Uberti, Conor McGoldrick, Daniel Guld, Elliot Holtham, Haavard Gjeldnes, Jadon Jaeger, Jimmy Kershaw, Joe Rees, Johan Norén, Matt Brooke, Niki Hug, Pim van Diemen, Ross Fawcett, Scott Catanzaro, Takato Ikeda, Thomas Thrall, Vidar Mehl, William Zoughaib

Women: Amelia Mitchell, Anna Svärdström, Becca Ward, Becky Storrie, Beth Maciver, Charlotte Colclough, Darlene Krohn, Eleanor Wiseman, Elin Delin, Eva Marie Hering, Faye Faber, Fiona Schröder, Helen McKay, Imogen Cotter, Katheryn Curi, Loes Adegeest, Marlene Bjärehed, Morgan Chaffin, Steph Clutterbuck, Yvonne Timewell