Trouble-free stage for the ‘blues’ in Novara

9 May 2021
Imagen de la noticia ‛Trouble-free stage for the ‘blues’ in Novara’

Giro d'Italia (st. 2)

Merlier (AFN) wins the sprint in Novara ahead of Nizzolo (TQA) and Viviani (COF). No major changes in GC for our guys.

Predictable start for the first regular stage of this Giro d’Italia 2021, 179 km between Stupingi (Nichelino) and Novara. The script was set with an early 3-man break with Tagliani (ANS), Marengo (BRD) and Albanese (EOK) who took up to 5 minutes of gap with the peloton.

Albanese (EOK) stepped down after getting the KOM points, his two break mates were caught with 26 km to go, then BOH, AFC and COF took control of the group to accelerate for a mass sprint in which Merlier (AFN) was the fastest.

A transition day in the peloton (c):BettiniPhoto

Marc Soler and the rest of the ‘blues’ had an uneventful stage, riding almost the entire stage grouped in the heart of the peloton and positioning in the first row for the final kilometers to avoid trouble in the tricky last km.

Tomorrow’s stage will be a little bit more hilly, with 190 km between Biella and Canale in which we will face two 4th category climbs and a 3rd category one, all of them in the last half of the route.

– Start at 12.20 h, finish around 17.00 h; broadcasted by Eurosport 2 and GCN+ starting 12.15 h.

Cover image (c): BettiniPhoto

Male Team 08 - 30 May

Giro d'Italia ITA

(2nd Stage) Stupinigi - Novara (179 km)
  1. 01 Tim Merlier Alpecin-Fenix 4h21'09"
  2. 02 Giacomo Nizzolo Team Qhubeka Assos "
  3. 03 Elia Viviani Cofidis "
  4. 19 Marc Soler Movistar Team "
  5. 62 Nelson Oliveira Movistar Team "
  6. 67 Davide Villella Movistar Team "
  7. 92 Dario Cataldo Movistar Team "
  8. 105 Einer Rubio Movistar Team "
  9. 114 Antonio Pedrero Movistar Team "
  10. 161 Matteo Jorgenson Movistar Team "
  11. 182 Albert Torres Movistar Team +45"
See prov general ranking
  1. 01 Filippo Ganna INEOS Grenadiers 4h29'53"
  2. 02 Edoardo Affini Jumbo - Visma +13"
  3. 03 Tobias Foss Jumbo - Visma +16"
  4. 17 Nelson Oliveira Movistar Team +32"
  5. 34 Matteo Jorgenson Movistar Team +39"
  6. 56 Marc Soler Movistar Team +45"
  7. 133 Davide Villella Movistar Team +1'11"
  8. 140 Dario Cataldo Movistar Team +1'13"
  9. 149 Antonio Pedrero Movistar Team +1'18"
  10. 167 Einer Rubio Movistar Team +1'29"
  11. 180 Albert Torres Movistar Team +1'41"
See stage ranking