2016 – Movistar Team
2016 - Movistar Team Maillot

Movistar Team

Despite the team being unable to clinch their biggest goal of the season with overall victory in the Tour -Nairo Quintana finishing in 3rd place, with Ion Izagirre saving an otherwise middling performance with his stage win in Morzine-, the year was one of the best in their history for the Blues. The Movistar Team obtained their fourth consecutive UCI WorldTour title; completed their most successful season in terms of victories (36, tied with Banesto ’98, conquered by 14 different riders); a Grand Tour, the fourteenth for Unzué’s lads, thanks to Nairo himself in the Vuelta; and success in prestigious races like the Flèche Wallonne (Valverde), Romandie, Catalunya (Nairo) or even a European TT title, the first ever such contest, by Jonathan Castroviejo, who also claimed bronze in the Qatar TT Worlds despite spending four months off early in the season due to a neck fracture. Telefónica adds another three years to their partnership agreement in September, weeks before Pablo Lastras gets back to the team as staff member.



Amador, Andrey ()
Anacona, Winner ()
Arcas, Jorge (ES)
Betancur, Carlos ()
Carapaz, Richard ()
Castroviejo, Jonathan (ES)
Dowsett, Alex (UK)
Erviti, Imanol (ES)
Fernández, Rubén ()
Herrada, Jesús (ES)
Herrada, José (ES)
Izagirre, Gorka (ES)
Izagirre, Ion (ES)
Lobato, Juanjo (ES)
Malori, Adriano (IT)
Moreno, Dani (ES)
Moreno, Javi (ES)
Oliveira, Nelson (PT)
Pedrero, Antonio (ES)
Quintana, Dayer (CO)
Quintana, Nairo (CO)
Rojas, José Joaquín (ES)
Soler, Marc (ES)
Sutherland, Rory (AU)
Sütterlin, Jasha ()
Valverde, Alejandro (ES)
Ventoso, Fran (ES)
Visconti, Giovanni (IT)


Unzué, Eusebio
Jaimerena, José Luis
Laguía, José Luis
Arrieta, José Luis
García Acosta, Chente

36 Wins

  1. 1st La Vuelta Nairo Quintana
  2. 1st Route d'Occitanie Nairo Quintana
  3. 1st Tour de Romandie Nairo Quintana
  4. 1st Tour de San Luis Dayer Quintana
  5. 1st Volta a Catalunya Nairo Quintana
  6. 1st Vuelta a Andalucía Alejandro Valverde
  7. 1st Vuelta a Castilla y León Alejandro Valverde
  8. 1st Vuelta a Madrid Juanjo Lobato
  9. 1st British ITT Championships Alex Dowsett
  10. 1st Portuguese ITT Championships Nelson Oliveira
  11. 1st Spanish ITT Championships Ion Izagirre
  12. 1st Spanish RR Championships José Joaquín Rojas
  13. 1st European ITT Championships Jonathan Castroviejo
  14. 1st Flèche Wallonne Alejandro Valverde
  15. 1st GP Miguel Indurain Ion Izagirre
  16. 1st Klasika Primavera Giovanni Visconti
  17. 1st Circuit de la Sarthe (4. stage) Juanjo Lobato
  18. 1st Critérium du Dauphiné (2. stage) Jesús Herrada
  19. 1st Dubai Tour (3. stage) Juanjo Lobato
  20. 1st Giro d'Italia (16. stage) Alejandro Valverde
  21. 1st Giro della Toscana (1. stage) Giovanni Visconti
  22. 1st La Vuelta (10. stage) Nairo Quintana
  23. 1st Route d'Occitanie (3. stage) Nairo Quintana
  24. 1st Route d'Occitanie (4. stage) Marc Soler
  25. 1st Tour de France (20. stage) Ion Izagirre
  26. 1st Tour de Pologne (7. stage) Alex Dowsett
  27. 1st Tour de Romandie (1. stage) Ion Izagirre
  28. 1st Tour de Romandie (2. stage) Nairo Quintana
  29. 1st Tour de Suisse (8. stage) Ion Izagirre
  30. 1st Vuelta a Andalucía (5. stage) Alejandro Valverde
  31. 1st Vuelta a Asturias (2. stage)
  32. 1st Vuelta a Asturias (3. stage) Dani Moreno
  33. 1st Vuelta a Castilla y León (1. stage)
  34. 1st Vuelta a Castilla y León (2. stage) Alejandro Valverde
  35. 1st Vuelta a Castilla y León (3. stage) Alejandro Valverde
  36. 1st Vuelta a Madrid (1. stage) Juanjo Lobato